ECLAS Annual Awards 2019

ECLAS Uniscape award

The European Council of Landscape Architecture Schools, ECLAS, is an association of university teachers and researchers in landscape architecture, whose membership primarily consists of university departments and faculties where landscape architecture teaching and research is the main focus of activity.

The purpose of ECLAS is to foster and develop scholarship in landscape architecture throughout Europe by:

  • strengthening contacts and enriching the dialogue between members of Europe’s landscape academic community,
  • representing the interests of this community within the wider European social and institutional context and
  • making the collective expertise of ECLAS available, where appropriate, in furthering the discussion of landscape architectural issues at the European level.

In pursuit of this goal the European Council of Landscape Architecture Schools seeks to build upon Europe’s rich landscape heritage and intellectual traditions to:

Network and platform Further and facilitate the exchange of information, experience and ideas within the discipline of landscape architecture at the European level, stimulating discussion and encouraging co-operation between Europe’s landscape architecture schools through, amongst other means, the promotion of regular international meetings, in particular an annual conference;
Educational support Foster and develop the highest standards of landscape architecture education in Europe by, amongst other things, providing advice and acting as a forum for sharing experience on course and curriculum development, and supporting collaborative developments in teaching and learning;
Research and teaching Promote interaction between academics and researchers within the discipline of landscape architecture, thereby furthering the development of a Europe-wide landscape academic community, through, amongst other things, the development of common research agendas and the establishment of collaborative research projects;
Awareness of scholarship in LA Represent the interests of scholarship in landscape architecture within Europe’s higher education system, encourage interdisciplinary awareness and enhance the overall standing and the public understanding of the discipline;
External dialogue Stimulate dialogue with European bodies, institutions and organisations with interests in landscape architecture and with other international organisations furthering landscape scholarship.

In order to support the highest standards of landscape architecture education and research and to raise the awareness of scholarship in landscape architecture ECLAS bestows awards for outstanding performances by teachers, researchers and students.

The 2018 awards were given to Branka Aničić, Diedrich Bruns, Ulrich Kias, Samaneh Sadat Nickayin and Petra Pečan. Read more about them here ( . (

We are now inviting our members to nominate candidates until April 30, 2019 for the following categories:
* ECLAS Lifetime achievement Award
* ECLAS Outstanding Educator Award
* ECLAS Outstanding Researcher Award
* ECLAS Outstanding Student Award (1^st cycle, 2^nd cycle and 3^rd cycle)

For further details please follow this link. (