IFLA Europe Honorary Member Michael Oldham member of Jury for CoE Landscape Award


Landscape Award of the Council of Europe

5th Session 2016 – 2017

An international jury, comprising five people met at the Council of Europe on the 4th and 5th April to consider the entries for the prestigious Landscape Award of the Council of Europe.  Thirteen projects had been submitted ranging from rural landscape management projects to major urban redevelopment.  The countries represented in the competition were as follows:  Andorra, Belgium, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Norway, Serbia, Slovak Republic and Spain.  As expected, the quality of all the submissions was very high.

The jury, which was chaired by Yves LUGINBUHL (Director of Research CNRS, Paris) included four other members.  Kiztina KINZCES (Vice-chair of the Council of Europe Conference on the European Landscape Convention), Anne-Marie CHAVANON (President of the Committee on Democrat, Social Cohesion and Global Challenges of the Conference INGO’s of the Council of Europe), Linajeros CRUZ (former National Representative of the European Landscape Convention for Spain) and Michael OLDHAM (Past President EFLA, Hon. Member of IFLA Europe and Fellow of the Landscape Institute).
The results of the competition will be announced by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe later this year.

From left to right:Linajeros CRUZ, Yves LUGINBUHL, Michael OLDHAM, Kiztina KINZCES, Anne-Marie CHAVANON and Maguelonne DEJEANT-PONS (Executive Secretary of the European Landscape Convention, Council of Europe)

Note: In the cabinet behind is displayed the Jubilee Award which was presented to the Council of Europe for its work on the European Landscape Convention by IFLA Europe at its GA meeting in Oslo in October 2014