The aims of IFLA Europe EDUCATION COMMITTEE are:

  • to encourage the development of Landscape Architecture courses across Europe and review their compatibility with the aims of IFLA Europe
  • to promote common IFLA Europe/IFLA education guidelines to National Associations and European Universities/Schools teaching Landscape Architecture programmes
  • ensure solid Landscape Architecture education across Europe for effective professional practice
  • review and recognise higher Landscape Architecture educational programmes on behalf of IFLA Europe.

  • Recognition of Landscape Architecture programmes
    is a process in which the IFLA Europe School Recognition Panel, led by the IFLA Europe Vice President for Education, together with 11 members, Delegates and members of National Associations teaching and practicing Landscape Architecture, as well as members of ECLAS - European Council of Landscape Architecture Schools, review higher Landscape Architecture programmes Bachelor and Master’s degree.

    In this process School Recognition Panel (SRP) verifies the teaching structure and the substance, completeness and effectiveness of the concerned Landscape Architecture programme.

    IFLA Europe School Recognition Panel reviews applications for recognition of Landscape Architecture programmes according to the criteria laid out in the following documents:

    - Charter for Landscape Architectural Education
    - Guidance document for recognition
    - ECLAS Minimum Requirements
    - E4_IFLA Europe School Check List (see below)

    The School Recognition Panel provides a detailed assessment of Landscape Architecture programmes’ content and curriculum, academic ethos, leadership, qualifications and number of teaching staff.

    In order to facilitate the process, IFLA Europe launched SRP website where the Schools and Universities of Landscape Architecture will be able to apply online.

    IFLA Europe Recognition procedure

    For any request for recognition of a landscape architecture course/programme, the following procedure will be applied:
    The application is prepared by the School that wishes to apply for recognition of landscape architecture programme in cooperation with the National Association which will support the application.

    1. The University should
    - fill in the E4_IFLA Europe School Check List and provide
    - Appendix 1 - Contents of the degree, curriculum of the individual modules/courses of the programme translated into English
    - Appendix 2 - IFLA Europe template CVs of the staff who are teaching subjects related to the course to be recognised. This is very central in order to get the information about their professional status and degrees.

    2. Once the E4 IFLA Europe Check-list is filled in and necessary appendices are provided, the School should contact the National Association, send all the required material and ask the National Association to support the application.

    3. If a National Association considers that a landscape architecture programme should be sent to IFLA Europe for recognition, it should provide a letter of recommendation/support.

    4. The School should then apply for IFLA Europe Recognition and send the application to IFLA Europe Vice President for Education ( and IFLA Europe Executive Secretary ( Delegate of relevant National Association should be copied in this request.

    5. School Recognition Panel, led by Vice President for Education, will start the process of assessment in IFLA Europe School Recognition Panel.

    Landscape Architecture programmes recognised by IFLA Europe - status April 2023
    List of Landscape Architecture Programmes RECOGNISED by IFLA Europe_status DECEMBER 2023

    List of Landscape Architecture programmes in Europe
    List of ALL Landscape Architecture programmes_status APRIL 2023 (list not exhaustive)

    Brochure on benefits that IFLA Europe recognition brings to landscape architecture programmes and schools
    IFLA Europe Brochure on School Recognition Programme

    IFLA Europe Recognition Logo

    IFLA Europe Recognition Certificate

    IFLA Europe
    VESTRE Hunter Industries

    IFLA Europe

    Rue Général Tombeur 81 bus WAO 23
    1040 Brussel, Belgium GSM: +32  492 319 451 Skype ID: ifla.europe Contact

    Subscribe to our newsletter

    Follow us on social media