Call for applications German Landscape Architecture Prize 2023

Call for applications German Landscape Architecture Prize 2023

The Association of German Landscape Architects (bdla) will award the German Landscape Architecture Prize for the 16th time

Ecological, social and economic challenges characterize our time: advancing climate change, increasing scarcity of resources, massive loss of biodiversity. Ever higher demands are being placed on the performance of the environment. With great effort, existing infrastructures are constantly being adapted to the changing conditions, and entire systems have to be rebuilt. In addition to the ecological consequences, the social impacts of climate change are becoming increasingly apparent. Climate adaptation and climate protection are becoming compelling tasks. The quality of open spaces in cities and rural areas is of particular importance in terms of sustainability, value, resource conservation and biodiversity. The development of climate-resilient open spaces and landscapes requires a fundamental rethinking and visionary action at all planning levels.

Every two years, the German Landscape Architecture Award recognizes outstanding planning achievements, including conceptual ones, that feature aesthetically sophisticated, innovative, ecological and participatory solutions. The focus is on social and ecological settlement and landscape development as well as contemporary open space planning.

Against the background that landscape architects play a key role in creating and preserving resilient living spaces in a climate-friendly and climate-adapted manner, the bdla is offering the special prize Climate Adaptation/Climate Protection in the 2023 competition.

Patron is Klara Geywitz, Federal Minister for Housing, Urban Development and Construction.

Participation in or submission of projects to the German Landscape Architecture Award 2023 competition takes place online. Eligible to participate are German or German-based landscape architects, members of other disciplines, as long as they are members of the bdla, and consortiums with the participation of the aforementioned. A participation fee of 200 euros is payable per project; participation is free of charge for bdla members.
Deadline is January 26, 2023.

Top-class judges guarantee an adequate assessment of the submitted projects. The bdla presidium has appointed the following jurors:
- Dr. Matthias Alexander, Feuilleton FAZ, Frankfurt/Main
- Prof. Ute Aufmkolk, Planergruppe Oberhausen, Essen
- Roberto Kaiser, silands Gresz Kaiser Landschaftsarchitekten PartG mbB, Ulm
- Prof. Stephan Lenzen, RMP Stephan Lenzen Landschaftsarchitekten, Bonn, bdla president
- Carla Lo, Carla Lo Landschaftsarchitektur, Vienna
- Heiko Patzer, smb Seilspielgeräte GmbH Berlin in Hoppegarten, Berlin
- Prof. Jonas Reif, University of Applied Sciences Erfurt
- Martin Schmied, Department of Environmental Planning and Sustainability Strategies, Federal Environmental Agency, Dessau-Roßlau
- Martin Schmitz, Atelier LOIDL, Berlin

First prize, special prize and awards
The jury evaluation takes place in two steps; the pre-selection with nomination takes place online until 15. March 2023. At a meeting on April 21, 2023 in Berlin, the jurors will decide on the awarding of the First Prize, the Special Prize Climate Adaptation/Protection and the Awards in the categories: - Public Space as a Center, - Living
Environment/Working Environment, - Use of Plants, - Landscape and Urban Development, - Sports, Play, Movement, - Landscape Architecture in Detail, - Young Landscape Architecture, - Historic Sites/Heritage Garden Preservation, - Maturity - Projects, 20 Years after Completion.

Award ceremony
The award will be presented at a ceremony on September 15, 2023 in Berlin. On this occasion, the award-winning works will be presented to the public. At the award ceremony, a documentation will be published with all award-winning projects as well as the works nominated for the German Landscape Architecture Award 2023 competition.

A big thank you goes to the sponsors of the German Landscape Architecture Award 2023, the companies Bruns-Pflanzen-Export GmbH undamp; Co. KG, ComputerWorks GmbH, Louis Poulsen Germany GmbH, Polytan Sportstätten GmbH, Rinn Beton- und Naturstein GmbH undamp; Co. KG, Runge GmbH undamp;
Co. KG, smb Seilspielgeräte GmbH Berlin in Hoppegarten, Zeppelin Baumaschinen GmbH as well as the Bundesverband Garten-, Landschafts- und Sportplatzbau BGL, NürnbergMesse/ GaLaBau and the Bundesverband deutscher Wohnungs- und Immobilienunternehmen GdW.

All information on the 16th year of the competition is summarized at

IFLA Europe
VESTRE Hunter Industries

IFLA Europe

Rue Général Tombeur 81 bus WAO 23
1040 Brussel, Belgium GSM: +32  492 319 451 Skype ID: ifla.europe Contact

Subscribe to our newsletter

Follow us on social media