It is the aim of IFLA Europe to recognise the work of exceptional people who believe that our way of perceiving and understanding the world – derived from our profession – could contribute to its development.

2020 - IUCN -International Union for Conservation of Nature European Regional Office

The Award was ‘virtually’ received by Ms Chantal van Ham, EU Programme Manager Nature Based Solutions, Focal point for local and regional authorities

On this occasion, Ms van Ham addressed IFLA Europe General Assembly through pre-recorded message

“On behalf of the IUCN European Regional Office and our global organisation, we would like to thank you wholeheartedly for this award.It is an honour and presents a milestone in our journey to make the value of nature visible in our European landscapes.

I regret that we cannot meet in person, but in this way I hope to convey our deepest gratitude. Your actions by so many landscape professionals are important in creating awareness and to set the precedent for integrated landscape planning approaches that provide benefits for people, biodiversity and the economy. Bringing nature closer to people with all that it offers to our lifes, not in the least better health and well being, as we all experienced during the corona times, should be an essential part of all economic activities.

The European Green Deal states that all EU policies should contribute to conserving Europe’s natural capital. There is no future business if we do not make nature part of all our decisions and actions across sectors and in landscape planning. This can only be achieved if we restore biodiversity and ecosystems, the mission of this century.

Major changes are needed to achieve this mission and bundling IFLA’s creative ideas and practical experiences with IUCNs global network of expertise and best practices on biodiversity and ecosystem services and the implementation of Nature-based Solutions around the world, will make it possible to respond to a wide range of societal challenges, such a climate change, food, water and energy supplies and health.

IUCN looks forward to strengthen its cooperation with IFLA Europe through knowledge sharing, joint projects for up-scaling NBS and to mobilise investment to integrate nature better in our existing landscapes as well as in new development, to create a healthy liveable and just environment for future generation.”

2019 - European Federation of Green Roof Associations

The award was received by Dusty Gedge, President of European Federation of Green Roof Associations at the IFLA Europe General Assembly in Antalya 2019.

2017 - Europa Nostra

The Award was received on behalf of Europa Nostra by John Sell, Executive Vice President, at the IFLA Europe General Assembly, which took place in Bucharest, Romania, 1-4 June 2017.

2016 - European Commission, Directorate General for Environment

The Award was presented to Mr Stefan Leiner, Head of DG Environment Unit for Biodiversity on behalf of Commissioner Carmenu Vella who on that occasion addressed IFLA Europe Delegates through a video message Commissioner Karmenu VELLA address

2015 - UNESCO

UNESCO has been granted the award for the leading role it has played since the adoption of the 1972 World Heritage Convention and since the inclusion of Cultural Landscapes on the World Heritage List in 1992. The award was received on behalf of the director of UNESCO’s World Heritage Centre, Ms Mechtild Rössler, by Mr Bernd von Droste, former director of the World Heritage Centre.

IFLA Europe is one of five regional federations that comprise the International Federation of Landscape Architects and promotes the profession of landscape architecture across all countries of the European Union and the broader European region, recognising excellence in educational courses and promoting best practice operations in all member countries. UNESCO has a longstanding relationship with IFLA.

2014 Council of Europe

IFLA Europe granted the Silver Jubilee ‘Landscape and Democracy Award’ to the Council of Europe at their General Assembly held in Oslo, Norway, on 19 October 2014.

The ‘Landscape and Democracy Award’ for Mr Thorbjørn Jagland,Secretary General of the Council of Europe, was presented by Mr Michael Oldham, first President of IFLA Europe, in the presence of Mrs Liv Kristine Mortensen, President of the Council of Europe Conference of the European Landscape Convention, Mrs Ana Luengo, President of
IFLA Europe, Mrs Marina Cervera, Secretary General of IFLA Europe and the representatives of the National Associations of IFLA Europe.

The Award was given to Mrs Maguelonne Déjeant-Pons, Executive Secretary of the European Landscape Convention, who represented the Secretary General on this occasion.

IFLA Europe
PUNTO Design Hunter Industries

IFLA Europe

c/o WAO rue Lambert Crickx 19
1070 Brussel, Belgium GSM: +32  492 319 451 Skype ID: ifla.europe Contact

Subscribe to our newsletter

Follow us on social media